Subject Areas Course Search

Top students recognised at college awards nights

MORE than 150 people watched proud students from Buxton & Leek College step forward to receive awards at the College’s annual student awards ceremony on Thursday 6th July.

Buxton’s iconic Devonshire Dome hosted the ceremony and was attended by student award winners, their families, local businesses, staff and governors of the College and University of Derby. The event saw a range of awards presented including Student of the Year for each curriculum area offered at BLC, apprenticeship achievement and outstanding achievement awards.

After the guests enjoyed a two course meal, Principal Len Tildsley, who welcomed the students and guests said:  “This is a point in the year I always look forward to.  A time for reflection and celebration to honour learners who have gone above and beyond during their time at Buxton & Leek College.

“We are immensely proud to be able to celebrate their achievements and put them in the spotlight on these special evenings.”

Awards were presented to students from both Buxton and Leek campuses by Professor Kath Mitchell, Vice Chancellor of the University of Derby with Principal Len Tildsley hosting on stage. Additional awards were presented by the University of Derby Students Union, who handed College Hero awards to seven students who have been involved with enrichment activities in the local community.

Click here to view the Individual Photographs

The award winners:

Jennifer McBain     Hairdressing Student of the Year

Liam Pointon           Barbering Student of the Year

Maia Beckett            Beauty Therapy Student of the Year

Benjamin Millner     Engineering student of the Year

Samuel Shenton     Carpentry & Joinery Student of the Year

Orlando Ford           Media Student of the Year

Lauren Owen           Computing & ICT Student of the Year

Keeley Spooner      Art & Design Student of the Year

Christopher Morton           Motor Vehicle Student of the Year

Francesca Littlewood       Hospitality Student of the Year

Scarlett Boyd          Catering Student of the Year

Millie Whelan           Sport & Outdoor Student of the Year and College Hero

Leo Rawnsley         Public Services Student of the Year and College Hero

Jade Charlesworth            Travel and Tourism Student of the Year

Joshua Hardy         Health and Social Care Student of the Year

Belinda Howard      Access Student of the Year

Hollie Wild    Business, Management & Finance Student of the Year

Jenna Redfern        Childcare & Education Student of the Year

Eliza Woolley           Maths Student of the Year

Thomas Prosser    English Student of the Year

Benjamin Shaw      Foundation Services Living and Work Student of the Year

Neve Whibberley    Foundation Services Developing Skills  Student of the Year

Bria Kiely      Adult Student of the Year

Erin Cartledge         Apprentice of the Year

Harry Griffiths          Apprentice of the Year

Emma Barker          Outstanding Achievement

Sophie Wilkinson   College Hero

Katie Thornton        College Hero

Molly Beth Gorman            College Hero

Lauren Higginbottom        College Hero

Alfie Tomkinson     College Hero

The 2017 awards were sponsored by a number of prominent local and national businesses including: DermalogicaWella ProfessionalsSnap-on ToolsSerpentine Nursery SchoolLeek United Building SocietyM-viron “EE Business specialist”, Russums, CollCap Packaging and 600 UK.

Applications are still open for courses starting in September 2017. To find out more about the courses on offer at Buxton & Leek College click here or call 0800 074 0099.